COA Accreditation

What is Accreditation?

Accreditation is like an evaluation of performance for the agency. Accreditation is a formal confirmation from a neutral group of professionals, that the agency meets established standards and practices. The neutral group of professionals are known as peer reviewers.

Who is COA?

Council on Accreditation (COA) was founded in 1977 by the Child Welfare League of America and The Family Service America (now the Alliance for Strong Families and Communities). With over 40 years of experience promoting best practice standards, we are a well respected ally for the human and social services field.

What are the established COA standards?

1. Administration and Management Standards

The Administration and Management Standards address practices that promote sound operations and management, including governance, financial management, and quality improvement. These apply to all organizations regardless of the services provided or populations served.

2. Service Delivery Administration Standards

The Service Delivery Administration Standards address practices related to the administration of services, including client rights, training and supervision, and program administration. These also apply to all organizations.

3. Service Standards

Service Standards address practices related to service provision areas across the full continuum of community-based social and behavioral healthcare services. These standards apply based on your organization’s scope and service population.

Who Are the Peer Reviewers?

A volunteers who conducts site visits for COA Standards for Private, Public, and Canadian organizations/agencies/programs. These individuals have many years of experience in the field and have been trained by COA to effectively review the organization.

What Will Happen?

  • Step 1: Application and Accreditation Agreement
  • Step 2: Intake and Assessment
  • Step 3: Self-Study
  • Step 4: Site-Visit
  • Step 5: Ratings Report & Pre-Commission Review
  • Step 6: Accreditation Decision
  • Step 7: Maintaining Accreditation